Currently…

It’s been almost 2 weeks since I last blogged and I haven’t been up to too much but I’d thought I’d throw up a currently post for what I have been doing. I’ve been a little blue lately- a combination of S.A.D, sprained ankle, and about a month of cold and congestion. But I’ve also been planning some fun things, and I have high hopes for February. I also completed my 5th round of whole 30 and feel less bloated and more prepared to tackle what comes next!

What I’m Reading:  

I loved this book but it also made me really sad. It’s definitely not a pick-me-up, although it has a strong and positive message. I didn’t know too much about it going in and that made it even better so I’m loathe to give a summary but I don’t want you going to Amazon where the school review spoils the entire book. So, I’ll tell you a bit: the protagonist is 16 year old Aaron, a Puerto Rican boy who lives in the Bronx projects with his overwhelmed but well-meaning mother and his younger brother. He has a group of friends and a really sweet girlfriend. The story takes place in the near future where a procedure exists that allows for memory manipulation, think Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (one of my all-time favorite movies). When Aaron meets a new boy named Thomas, things take a turn. Ok, that’s all I’m saying. It’s a really good read. I found myself telling my son all about it this morning because I couldn’t get it out of my head.  

What I’m Watching:  

I was a casual viewer when this was on tv, but the new season on Hulu has been killing it. I don’t want to spoiler this either, but I’ll say that it’s a really new and interesting take on an old story and the show is leaps and bounds above where it was prior. 

What I’m Listening To:

 
I’ve been feeling nostalgic lately. I’ve been listening to a lot of Belle & Sebastian, Rilo Kiley, and Dolly Parton. It’s mainly soft and dreamy and sometimes my iPhone shuffles in something a little bouncy too. I have so many karaoke songs on my mental to-do list. 

What I’m Wearing:

I actually have gotten some new things since losing 40 pounds during my 5 Whole 30 rounds!   

 I’m super obsessed with this jacket. I wear it almost daily. 

 

  

  

  

 I got a bunch of pants at Nordstrom Rack.  I can’t even describe how happy it made me to be a size I couldn’t imagine being 10 months ago. March 1st will be my one year anniversary since starting this Paleo journey and it has been a pretty exciting ride. 
What I’m Looking Forward To: 

So much!!!  My sister is coming to visit!  Valentine’s Day!  My husband’s birthday! Comedy shows!  Poetry shows!  And a trip to San Francisco!  Have you been?  Where should I go?  Tell me all your secrets!

What I’m Eating: 

Still mainly Whole 30, but I have a date in Seattle and we’re planning on getting ramen. I’m ridiculously anticipating it. My man, David cross, and ramen… come on. That’s a great night. 

What I Learned This Week:

I learned that we can only control our reactions and perspectives towards any given situation so I will choose to be positive and open. I learned that we must always treat ourselves with acceptance and that we should show love to all those who accept us too.  So to all my friends out there, thank you. And thank you for reading this!
What have you been up to?  I would genuinely love to know!

2 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Meryl says:

    I love all the clothes especially the dress and jacket. You’re so cute. Also intrigued by the book suggestion. And of course happy to see you’re feeling more accepting of yourself too, because I think you’re fantastic.

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Like

    • Julie Bee says:

      You should read it. You would really like it and it would take you like 2 hours. It’s on my kindle from the library. I wonder if you could get it on your computer with my log in info… Then we could talk about it! I think you’re fantastic too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

