Slow Cooker Whole 30 Chicken and Vegetables with Gravy 

I promised you the recipe in my Currently post, and I am a woman of my word. This ended up being even better than I expected so I didn’t take a ton of pictures because I wasn’t necessarily expecting a recipe post. You’ll have to trust me through my words, you know- like I’m a writer. 😉

You need:

  • 3 large carrots
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 apple (I used Granny Smith)
  • garlic, 2 cloves
  • 1 whole chicken
  • spices: salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, and cinnamon
  • for the gravy: coconut milk and arrowroot

First I cut up the potatoes, onion, apple, and minced 2 cloves of garlic. I threw all that in the slow cooker set at low with a splash of chicken broth for moisture. Water would also be fine.

I let that cook alone for about an hour to loosen up whatever flavor was in the veggies. Meanwhile, I mixed all the spices in a ramekin and then rubbed it all over the chicken. I don’t measure when cooking, but it was probably about a tablespoon of each except the pepper and cayenne. Those were to taste.

I put the chicken in the slow cooker giving it time to cook on low for 5 hours. This is a tip I got from Nom Nom Paleo. Slow cooker chicken must be cooked 4-6 hours on low to be moist and delicious. Don’t overcook and don’t put it on high or your chicken will be dry.

Here’s the thing with slow cooking whole chicken: the skin doesn’t get crispy and I think that’s gross. The best part of chicken with skin is the skin!  So after 5 hours, I took my chicken out of the slow cooker, threw it into a Pyrex, and baked it at 350 for 20 minutes and then high broil for 10- 15 minutes (keep an eye on it). All ovens and chicken sizes vary.


That’s what I’m talking about!!! Look at that skin!


A terrible and steamy picture of the veggies in the crock pot.

Once the chicken came out of the oven, there was so much juice in the Pyrex that I knew I had to make gravy. I poured the drippings in a small sauce pan, added salt, pepper, onion powder, a tablespoon of arrowroot and 1/4 cup of coconut milk (adjust this to taste depending on how much juice your chicken yields)


Isn’t that just gravy?  HAHA, I’m punny.


And there you have it. It’s very easy labor but it does take some time, so a lazy weekend day is a great time to make this dish. I’ll be enjoying it for days!  In fact, I already had some veggies with 2 eggs for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

