It’s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas

And just like that, the turkey is cooked and the lights have been brought up from the basement. It’s been a whirlwind of activity lately with painting parties, get togethers, and assorted work and fun times. Here are some pictures from the last few days:

 My view from work. Not too bad, huh?

 A genuinely perfect evening. There’s clearly a (crochet) hooker joke here somewhere.

  
  
  Thanksgiving was perfect. My husband helped me cook my full menu wish list from my paleo Thanksgiving post and everything turned out delicious, except for  the apple skillet. I did not like that at all but he did so it will still get eaten. Then we went to a friend’s house for after-dinner drinks. It was laid back and a lot of fun all around. In between cooking we watched Jessica Jones and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, two shows I’m totally obsessed with. I also gave my son an early holiday gift and we played Exploding Kittens which is a fun and fast card game.  This was the first Thanksgiving since we moved from the east coast that I haven’t been really bummed out. Progress!

 I will be wearing this hat all month. This is my disgruntled decorator face.

 We started to set up for Christmas and our tree was broken and small and missing the stand. I went to the local hardware store and asked if they had anything priced between the $50 Charlie Brown one and $150 big beauty and I got a last year floor model!  Sweet!

 Hello, beautiful.

 Festive as… you know. 😉

 See the framed flower picture?  I painted that at a paint and sip with a bunch of my girlfriends!  The frame is from Value Village and fits perfectly.


   Today, I dragged my boys to Seattle for Magic in the Market. We walked around Capitol Hill first and picked up some art supplies at Blick and the newest Archie for me at Phoenix Comics. I’m excited to read it later tonight. It was my favorite comic as a kid and the new revamping of it is perfection. It’s modernized but not in a tacky way. I love it and definitely recommend it if you have even a cursory interest in comics.  That mocha looks so good, right?  It’s not mine. I don’t eat dairy but black Americanas don’t photograph as lovely. My husband side eyed me hard when I took a picture of his drink.


  
 It was a bit of a madhouse, but it was so much fun to see the lights turn on at Pike Place Market.
 And in case you still weren’t sure that it’s Christmastime, the tree is on top of the Space Needle!  I love the lights so much. How has your week been?  What holiday traditions do you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

