Whole 30 Clam Fra Diavolo

For this delicious recipe you will need

  • avocado oil
  • ghee
  • clams
  • red pepper (sweet or spicy would work, but I love spicy!)
  • Japanese eggplant
  • kale
  • onion
  • zucchini
  • crimini mushrooms
  • spinach
  • heirloom tomatoes
  • fresh basil
  • garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper


As I continue posting recipes, hopefully I’ll get better at artful arrangement. Let’s just say I’m keeping it real real up in here.

As with all my recipes, you can totally substitute out parts of this for what you have on hand or what seems like it would be good.  You don’t like mushrooms?  Skip it!  You love broccoli?  Add it!  I play pretty fast and loose in the kitchen and you should feel free to as well with my recipes.  I made this one up as I was going and it went a little something like this:


First, I made my zoodles.  I had 3 smaller zucchinis that I spiralized for this meal.  I have a crank spiralizer and I use it weekly, if not more.  I always set it up so that I spiralize directly into the colander where I can then leave the zucchini to firm up a bit.  Maybe I’m imagining it, but I feel that the colander holes make the zucchini firm up better that in a bowl.  You’ll definitely want to factor in wait time so your zoodles have a more pasta texture.

Here are my zoodles, all ready to go!

Whenever I make zoodles, I sprinkle salt all over them and massage it in.  I let it sit for about 20 minutes.  I have other things to do anyway…


Such as putting heirloom tomatoes in a sauce pan!  To make my sauce, I put a little avocado oil in the pan first and when it started to sound like it needed more oil, I added some water.  Not too much, probably about a shot glass worth of water.  Then I covered the tomatoes and let them cook.


At this point, the bagged veggies were already sautéing in a frying pan with a little more avocado oil.  I cut up the eggplant, hot pepper, onion, and kale and added it to the veggie pan.

Here’s everything cooking.  Time to make the sauce!

 

I added fresh basil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper to the tomatoes.


Then I mashed with a potato masher.

Sometimes, I think about what kitchen tools are holy grail and a potato masher is for sure one.  Others are tongs, silicone scrapers, and a silicone basting brush.  If you don’t have these, you should run to a thrift store and get them immediately.  You can always find them for about 99 cents.


Be careful- it can get juicy while mashing!  This is why you don’t want to add too much water because your sauce will get too thin.


I let that simmer while I got my clams ready.  I poured some ghee into the pan with the veggies and added the clams.  Again, I added a little water to make steam and then I covered the pan.  Both pans were now covered and simmering on low.

After about 5 minutes, I added the zoodles to the pan.


See the tongs!  Love them!  Mix it around a bit so the oil and butter and clam juice and whatever else is liquid in the pan gets on the zoodles.  Add the sauce.


Then I covered the whole thing and let it simmer on low for about 5 minutes while I washed the dishes.


I should take a moment to give it up to those well-staged photos I see on other blogs.  Well, my pictures may not look great, but we can all agree my dinner does!  It seriously was delicious. Let me know if you make it and what, if any, variations you make!

Leave a Reply

