Fall for Butternut Squash Soup

That’s sort of a cheesy title, but for real this is one of those soups that is a season in a bowl.  What you need:

*one butternut squash

*about a quarter of a sweet onion

*red pepper

*oil (olive, coconut, avocado, ghee- chef’s choice)

*compliant chicken broth or bone broth if you’re fancy (I am not that fancy)

*seasonings (I like crushed garlic or garlic powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, cinnamon, cumin) but honestly, there’s plenty of room for variation

*an apple

Seriously, so much of this is optional.  I make a pumpkin sausage soup that is an amalgamation of other recipes I’ve come across and it’s very similar.  For that one you sauté onion and garlic in oil, add Libby’s pureed pumpkin, compliant broth, seasonings of your choice and coconut milk if you want.  An apple if you want.  Potatoes, carrots, kale if you want.  Even the sausage isn’t necessary, but it makes it so much better.  It’s like the leggings of soup- totally adaptable and easy.

So for this one, first you roast the squash.  I did that by cutting it in half (badly) and turning it flesh down on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper and roasting it at 400 degrees for about an hour.  It maybe was longer.  It was maybe too long.  No worries.

IMG_4659

Squash halved and ready to bake

IMG_4660

Say in Mario Bros. voice: In I go!

IMG_4662

All done!  Maybe too done?  I was watching The Grinder and was distracted by Rob Lowe’s handsomeness.

IMG_4663

I used tongs to scoop the flesh and I put it aside in a bowl.

IMG_4665

IMG_4666

I cut up onion, pepper, and an apple and sautéed it all in avocado oil in my dutch oven.

IMG_4667

This is the stuff I used.  Avocado oil for sautéing, all my seasonings, and Costco broth.  You can see the bowl of squash back there.

IMG_4669

Everything in together, including the salt I forgot to picture.  Oops.

IMG_4671

For protein, I squeezed lemon on some fish and sprinkled salt, pepper & garlic powder.  The oven was still heated at 400 degrees from the squash, so I set my timer for 30 minutes.

IMG_4672

Voila!  Healthy and filling Whole 30 dinner.  The salad was leftover from lunch and is covered in Whole Sisters Dump Ranch (Google it.  It will change your life.)

I will say pork belly or sausage would have taken this next level.  I have so much leftover, I may buy some Aidell’s chicken apple sausage tomorrow and add it to the pot.  I didn’t immersion blender it because I sort of enjoy chunky soup, but you totally could for a much smoother soup.  Like I said, there are so many ways to vary this type of meal but I think it’s important to use the ingredients you have on hand and keep things as simple as possible.

Update: I bought Isernio ground pork sausage and added it to the soup (which I did immersion blend for leftovers) and it was so good.  Sort of sweet, sort of spicy, really filling.  Yum.

2 thoughts on “Fall for Butternut Squash Soup

    • Julie Bee says:

      It would really depend on how big your squash is and how much broth you use. I used a fairly average size squash- bigger, rather than smaller- and almost a whole box of broth and it would feed 6 people heaping bowls. I had 2 bowls so far and there’s so much left.

      Like

Leave a Reply

